nfolamp blog

I have an HP laptop model nx6325 with a Broadcom BCM4311 wireless card.  After installing Ubuntu 11.10, I find that my wireless doesn’t work.  The reason, Ubuntu detects the wireless but then loads the incorrect driver for this card.

I use the lspci command to display the details about my hardware. It will display all of your PCI connected hardware. I edited the output to show only the relevant information.  The important information here for  matching your hardware with mine is this indentifier [14e4:4312].

The Solution

I am  going to install the correct driver for this wireless card. Then I will remove the “incorrect” driver (bcmwl) which Ubuntu installed by default.

Hopefully you found this useful.

If you have this same type of wireless chip in your laptop, these instructions might also work for you.

View original post

Leave a Reply

